How to delete text messages on Facebook chat

Many people wonder how to delete text messages on Facebook chat whether it’s because they don’t want anybody to see it or because they just don’t want to be inconvenienced by scrolling through old messages. Regardless if you want to delete one message in your chat window, bits and pieces of it or the entire conversation, you’ve come to the right place. Find below a step by step guide on how to delete text messages on Facebook chat.

How to Delete a Message

The first thing you need to do is log into your Facebook account. Look for your message icon located at the top bar and scroll through your messages until you find the conversation you’re interested in. Click on it and it will pop up at the bottom right of your browser in a tiny window. Find the cogwheel at the top of the tiny window and look through ‘Actions’. Click to ‘See full conversation’. The chat window will minimize and in the background you will notice that you now have a full-sized version of the same chat.

Look for the cogwheel button again; it has ‘Actions’ written right beside it. You will notice that there are considerably more options here than there were in the tiny window. Click the ‘Delete Messages…’ option and checkboxes will appear beside each message typed in your conversation. Check one or multiple messages and then simply click the ‘Delete’ button you see at the bottom.

How to Delete a Conversation

If you want to delete your entire conversation, you can do this here as well. In this big chat window, find the cogwheel once more and click on ‘Delete conversation…’ You will be prompted if you want to complete this action and notified that it cannot be undone. Click on ‘Delete Conversation’ if you are sure that you want to delete everything.

If you simply want to clear the window without actually deleting the conversation, you can do this in the tiny chat window. Click the cogwheel and choose the ‘Clear conversation’ option. The window will instantly have no messages, but everything is still there if you go to see the full conversation. Keep in mind that this does not delete any messages

How To Archive a Conversation

Definitely not. Once you delete a message or a conversation, it is gone forever. There is no way to undo this. However, there is a way around this. You can hide messages by archiving them, but they won’t actually disappear for good. To archive a conversation, you will need to see the full conversation, click the cogwheel button and select the ‘Archive’ option. Now the conversation is hidden.

If you want to retrieve an archived conversation, you will need to look at the left side of your screen, where your inbox messages are listed. You will see your Inbox, Other and a bit to the right there is a ‘More’ option. Click on ‘More’ and then on ‘Archived’. Voila, you can now see all of your archived messages.

So there you have it. Now you know how to delete text messages on Facebook chat, as well as how to delete entire conversations or archive them. Hopefully you find this guide useful and share it with your friends.